Jeffrey Blanck elected first non-African-American NAACP Reno-Sparks president


Lonnie L. Feemster, President, Reno-Sparks NAACP (775) 722-0042
Jeffrey Blanck, President-Elect, Reno-Sparks NAACP (775) 324-6640

Reno-Sparks NAACP swears in new officers Jan. 3, 2013
Jeffrey Blanck first non-African-American leader in Reno-Sparks Branch 66-year history

RENO, Nev. -The Reno-Sparks NAACP will swear in new leadership at its meeting on Thursday, Jan. 3.

Longtime Reno attorney Jeffrey Blanck, who previously served as second vice-president and legal redress chair, will succeed Lonnie Feemster who is concluding the last of four non-consecutive two-year terms.

Blanck becomes the first non-African-American president in the branch’s 66-year history.

“I am proud that our leadership and membership reflect the rich diversity of our community and our country,” Blanck said.

Feemster expressed optimism for the incoming officers and executive committee members of the local civil rights advocacy organization.

“I have worked with most of the incoming group and I know they are dedicated and committed to the work of the NAACP. I am proud to have served four terms as president of our local branch and will continue to work to reduce racial disparities and discrimination in our community,” Feemster stated.

Lonnie Feemster will continue to serve on the branch executive committee and as the Nevada State Director for the NAACP National Voter Fund.

The new leadership will be sworn in at the branch’s regular monthly meeting, 6:00 p.m. Thursday, January 3, 2013, 1094 E. 8th St., Reno, NV 89512.

The 2013-2014 governing body of the Reno-Sparks NAACP

Jeffrey Blanck, President
Andrew Barbano, First Vice-President
Patricia Gallimore, Second Vice-President
George Hardaway, Third Vice-President
Olene Boyer, Secretary
Dolores Feemster, Assistant Secretary
Heather Hauskins, Treasurer
Lucille Adin, Assistant Treasurer

Sharrone Blanck, Jimi Bufkin, Ceola Davis, Darryl Feemster, Lonnie Feemster, Donald Gallimore Sr., Brian A. Jackson, Jane Moon, Elder William Moon, Bertha Mullins, Gale Sanders, Dr. R. Grant Seals, James H. Stinson, Tommie J. Vance, Marie A. Velez, Rev. William Webb, Larry Wilson

All were elected to two-year terms last November.

The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the nation’s leading civil rights organization, was founded in 1909.

Reno-Sparks Branch No. 1112 was chartered in 1947.

Membership applications, dues payments, civil rights complaint forms and other information may be accessed

E-mail <info>

U.S. Postal Service Address: P.O. Box 7757, Reno, NV 89510

Phone (775) 322-2992



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s